Webpage Photo 2014 All

Kilmaley G.A.A Milestones:

Some of the Milestones in Kilmaley Hurling Club's History [1938 to 1985]

1938: Won Intermediate 'B' Championship, beating Ogonnelloe 5-3 to 3-4 at Tulla.
1945: Mick Murphy, a native of Kilmaley, played on the Tipperary Senior Hurling Team that won the All-Ireland that year.
1958: Minor team reached the County Semi-Final but were defeated by Clonlara.
1960: Minor team reached County Final but lost 3-3 to 2-3 against Scariff.
1963: Kilmaley win Junior Championship by beating Meelick 8-8 to 1-1 at Tulla.
1964/'66: Kilmaley in Senior Ranks for the first time in their history.
1968: Victory over Killaloe by 11-4 to 4-0 in a Special Under/16 Hurling Championship.
1969: A win for Kilmaley in the Secondary Juvenile Championships at the time, Corn na Muinteoirf. In the final of this 13-Aside Competition, they beat O'Callaghan's Mills 4-2 to 2-3. Match played on 14-9-'69.
1970: In the Junvenile Premier Competition, a goal by Newmarket in the dying minutes just pipped Kilmaley. Newmarket 4-5; Kilmaley 4-4.
1971: Kilmaley win premier competition for juveniles. They had lost the final to Meelick 3-5 to 2-4, but were awarded the title after it was discovered that Meelick had fielded a number of over-age players.
In the same year, the Junior 'B' team got to the County Final but lost to Kilnamona: 4-7 to 2-7.
1973: Triumph in the Minor Final by 8-14 to 1-2 against Broadford in a replay.
Also in 1973, beaten in the Minor League Final by Ruan: 4-3 to 1-4. In the same year Kilmaley's Junior 'B' team beat Meelick in the League Final by 5-7 to 4-5.
1974: Victory in the Junior 'A' League Final, beating Ballyea 1-6 yo 1-5.
1975: U/21 team won the final against Clarecastle by 0-11 to 1-5. Game was played on October 26th, 1975. Also in 1975, the Junior 'A' team lost in the final to Kilnamona: 3-9 to 1-5.
1977: Lost the Intermediate Final to O'Callaghan's Mills: 2-14 to 0-8.
Under/16 team beaten in Final by Tulla.
Under-21 'B' team beat Crusheen in the Final: 1-8 to 2-4. Played on November 27th.
1978: Won the Final of the Intermediate League, beating Bodyke 4-6 to 2-6.
Lost to Wolfe Tones of Shannon in the Under-14 Final.
The field then called Frost's Field in Kilclogher, was bought and developed into what is now Kilmaley G.A.A. Club.
1979: Kilmaley joined ranks with Barefield and Our Lady's in an amalgamation called St. Bren-dan's. They got to the County Senior Final but were beaten by Sixmilebridge.
1980: Minor 'B' team lost in the final to O'Callaghan's Mills: 4-12 to 1-1.
Under-12 team lost final to Barefield: 2-3 to 1-2. Played on Sepbember 14th.
Won Intermediate Final by *beating Cratloe: 1-9 to 1-8 at Tulla.
Team back into Senior Ranks.
Tommy Keane and Martin Meehan on Clare Senior Hurling team. They were followed over the next few years by Seamus Fitzpatrick and Niall Romer.
1981: Kilmaley win the Clare Champion Cup by beating Meelick: 1-14 to 3-1 at Tulla on November 29th.
Under/16 and Under/14 teams
win County Titles and Under/12s were runners-up in the final.
1982: U/14 team beaten in the Final of the 'A' Division by Shannon: 4-2 to 2-4.
U/12 team were also beaten in the Final by Wolfe Tones, Shannon: 4-5 to 3-4.f2
1984: Kilmaley beat Sixmilebridge in the U/16 'A' Final at Cusack Park.
Gerard Kennedy named 'Clare Under-Age Hurler of the Year'. Hurling field was officially opened.
1985: Kilmaley win the County Senior Hurling Championship, beating Eire Og: 0-10 to 0-8 at Cusack Park. Sunday, 8/9/'85. Martin Cahill was 'Man of the Match'. P. J. Kennedy [C].
Junior 'B' team beaten in the Final by Sixmilebridge on November 2nd: 5-8 to 2-4.

Receive HTML?

Latest News

Twitter images



 HB Logo-whitebg

KHGAA Pieta House

Joomla templates by Joomlashine